Prague, Bedfordshire Tri & 6 month summary 

26th June – 2nd July

Monday:
AM – 2160 metre early morning non-wetsuit sea swim. I met a couple of people from a local open water swimming Facebook page at the harbour in Porthcawl. I got myself all togged up in my wetsuit and arrived early. When they turned up, they weren’t wearing wetsuits so I whipped mine off too, not wanting to buck the trend (or look like a wimp). It had been very warm at 19.5C at the Cardiff Triathlon in Cardiff Bay the previous day. The weather was beautiful and the swim was absolutely glorious.

PM – 5km stand up paddle boarding on the Thames. I’ve only been once before in the sea in Mallorca and found it so hard. Today was an out and back trip with a pub stop for a pint of Diet Coke in the middle before turning back. I was scared to stand and fall in on the way out so knelt all the way there. I then stood all the way back and I was doing so well, then collided with the raft and fell in after I’d finished!

Tuesday: REST

Drove from Oxford to home, unpacked, repacked, from home to Gatwick, and flew to Prague. In other words, I didn’t do any exercise. 

Wednesday:
AM – Prague tourism run, almost 10 miles at an easy pace with lots of stops to look at the sights, take photos, and buy drinks to rehydrate in the 27C temperatures. I then walked another 6ish miles to my conference and back. 

Thursday: REST day but about 4 miles of walking.

Friday:

AM – The Conference I’m at hosted a run for health. Something like 100 GPs rocked up at 7:15 and we set off on a 1 mile hilly course on cobbled streets. I finished First Lady and won a little rucksack and big water bottle, and then took a very easy 3 mile run back to the hotel. I’m delighted at the conference organisers taking this initiative and also to see a decent turnout of likeminded colleagues who value their own health and wellbeing and just love running. I also did about 8 miles of walking around Prague according to my iPhone health app. 

Saturday: REST, no formal exercise but about 7 miles of walking. 

Sunday: Same as yesterday, but with a 30 minute foot and leg Thai massage. Perfect to revive my tired trotters from a city break, and work on my tightening right plantar fascia and still dodgy right ankle.  

Summary:

Swim x 1 = 2160 metres

Bike = 0

Run x 2 = 14 miles

Other = 5km SUP and lots of walking. Minimal stretching and no yoga. Back on it next week. 4 rest days with no formal exercise! 
3rd – 9th July

Monday:

PM – Running club hill efforts – 6 miles and 20 mins yoga with Adriene.

Tuesday:
AM – 1 mile swim
PM – 1 hour body pump at home using a YouTube video and 15 mins yoga with Adriene YouTube video. 
Wednesday:

PM – 30 mins strength and conditioning – ankle exercises, glutes, hip stabilisers and core. 
Thursday:

AM – Bike commute 15.4 miles

PM – Bike commute 15.3 miles 


Friday: REST DAY except approx 6 mile round trip cycle to the pub for dinner. 
Saturday:

AM – 75 mins hot yoga
Sunday:

AM – Bedfordshire Triathlon, my sprint triathlon PB, 1 minute and 3 seconds faster than last year in 1:20:30. Our club, Bearbrook just narrowly missed out on retaining the county championships title by a single point to Team MK with our team all finishing 1st or 2nd in age group. In the afternoon I had a brief leisurely dip in the sea and a long walk around Southend.


Summary:

Swim x 2 = 1.5 miles

Bike x 4 = 48 miles

Run x 2 = 9 miles

Other = Approx 1.5hrs strength and 2hrs yoga. 

Having reached the end of June and exactly half way through the year, I totted up my mileage totals:

Bit less than last year with 43 swimming, 538 cycling, 932 running at this point in 2016 but I’ve been doing a lot more yoga and conditioning.

Next up: The Fugitive half iron-distance triathlon.

Leave a Reply

