Hello Fresh Review

I decided to try Hello Fresh for a change from Gousto and to compare the two. I ordered a box of 5 meals for 2, including all the ingredients required for the 5 dishes except olive oil, salt, pepper, sugar, flour. 

Meal 1 was Penne pasta with pancetta, mange tout, creme fraîche, mint, toasted pinenuts, and Parmesan. I split it into 3 portions instead of 2 and I am not one who would ever ordinarily eat less than a recommended serving size!

Meal 2 was chicken, aubergine, red pepper, tomato, mixed bean and goats cheese bake. My mum had left some bits in my fridge from when she stayed so I added a second red pepper, two fresh chillis, and a *lot* of extra garlic!

Meal 3 was Chinese style chilli beef stir fry with egg noodles which was delicious.

Meal 4 was pan fried chicken breast with spicy lentils. I’ve not cooked much with lentils or seen them as particularly exciting/anything more than a bulker before, but this was really good. 

Meal 5 was lamb and apricot pilaf with minted yoghurt, my favourite dish in the box.

Summary: 

I felt that the recipes were less exotic/exciting than Gousto but included more fresh vegetables, where the Gousto meals sometimes feel like they need an extra serving of veggies on the side. Although I looked forward to the dishes with less anticipation than the Gousto offerings, I was pleasantly surprised each time with how tasty they are. Calorie and ease of cooking wise, they’re comparable. Price was very very slightly cheaper, and you can order up to 5 meals per box. For my first choice, I had no choice in what I was sent, but I think in subsequent boxes there’s more flexibility to swap recipes.
Try Hello Fresh with £25 off your first box here: http://www.hellofresh.co.uk/?c=LAUGUS

That’s 3 meals for 2 people for just £14 or 5 meals for 2 people for £14 with the discount.

Leave a Reply

