100 days til Boston

The start of this week marked 100 days until the Boston marathon and the week also began our 100 day til London Marathon countdown too. 
Monday: 

The week didn’t get off to a good start. I struggled to drag myself out of bed so only had 20 mins instead of 30 for my weights session. But as soon as I started, I could tell my stomach wasn’t happy. I think a tad too much chilli in my dinner last night, so after just 10 minutes of foam rolling and light single leg deadlifts, I gave up. By the end of the day at work, I wasn’t feel any better so cancelled my evening yoga class. After catching up on some very much overdue household chores, I got an early night, not wanting to miss swimming the next day.

Dinner was pretty delish though – Malaysian style crab curry!

Tuesday: 

AM: 2400 metre swim.

PM: 5 mins foam rolling then running club. The session was 5km time trial so it worked well to use for my planned 3 mile tempo run this week. We did 1 mile warm up, then I did 3 miles at goal marathon pace, (which scarily also happens to be my best 5km time in a couple of months – lots of work to do), then a 1 mile cool down for 5 miles total.

Wednesday:

AM: 25 mins weights in my home gym. Supersetted everything to fit in as much as possible. 

PM: 3 mile easy run. 

Thursday:

AM: 2400 metre swim. 

PM: 60 mins hot yoga.

Friday: 

PM: 15 mins S&C. I made the most of gaps during my day with banded glute work to help my piriformis syndrome which is flaring up again; ankle mobility/stability drills; and rolling my plantar fascia. 

Eve: Running club – my first time going to a Friday night session, having always felt a tad intimidated in the past, hearing it’s a bit of an overly competitive boys club. But it was good – 10km in the bag at 7:40 pace.

Saturday:

PM: Chiltern League Cross Country at Keysoe Equestrian Centre. I was told it was 5km on the nose so overcooked it a bit considering it turned out to be around 6.5km! Quite a flat 2 lap course (3 for the men), with an approx 15 metre long water dip each lap. I felt quite strong and finished 3/10 in my club and 48/184 overall with 3.7 miles in the bank. It was a fun race with the top 5 finishers from my club all within 50 seconds of each other so lots of friendly competition and chasing down on the way around. And a great club turnout with 10 in the men’s race too.

Sunday:

AM: Long run – 12 miles road run at a steady pace with blasting music in my ears, bit wet, but I enjoyed it. 

PM: 2 hour mindfulness and meditation class at Sweat studios, Milton Keynes. 

Summary:

Swim = 4800 metres

Bike = 0

Run = 30 miles 

Other = 1hr S&C, 1hr hot yoga
And another two weeks in Gousto food heaven:

Leave a Reply

